Tuesday, September 10, 2002

September is for Joan Osborne fans

If you agree Joan Osborne has a set of pipes that blow away most "divas," get ready for a big month.

She'll be on the Conan O'Brien Show, Wednesday 9.11; with backing from the Youthful Praise choir.
Could be just what the soul doctor prescribes, given this solemn anniversary date.

Next, her new album, "How Sweet It Is," is going to be released Sept 17. Tracks are *all* 60's/early70's classics. Check this out:
1. I'll Be Around
2. Think
3. How Sweet It Is
4. Smiling Faces Sometimes
5. Love's In Need Of Love Today
6. These Arms Of Mine
7. Only You Know And I Know
8. War
9. Why Can't We Live Together
10. Axis: Bold As Love
11. The Weight
12. Everybody Is A Star

I haven't heard any of it yet, but I have heard some of her songs from the film documentary on Motown's Funk Brothers, "Standing In The Shadows of Motown" and she is simply amazing on that.

The film is due for theatrical release Nov 15, but the soundtrack is coming out real soon: Sept 24.
Here's the track listing:
1. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave - Joan Osborne
2. You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me - Meshell Ndegeocello
3. Do You Love Me - Bootsy Collins
4. Bernadette (instrumental) - The Funk Brothers
5. Reach Out I’ll Be There - Gerald Levert
6. Ain’t Too Proud To Beg - Ben Harper
7. Shotgun - Gerald Levert featuring Tom Scott
8. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted - Joan Osborne
9. I Heard It Through The Grapevine - Ben Harper
10. You Keep Me Hanging On (instrumental) - The Funk Brothers
11. Cool Jerk - Bootsy Collins
12. Cloud Nine - Meshell Ndegeocello
13. What’s Going On - Chaka Kahn
14. Band Introduction / Ain’t No Mountain High Enough - Chaka Kahn & Montell Jordan
15. The Flick - Earl Van Dyke

Go Joannie!!


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home